Basic users are entitled to 7 uploads within a 7 day period. The date of roll-over is determined by the day of the week that you uploaded your first image to 500px. Once you reach your 7 image upload limit, you will need to wait until the 7 day period is over before you can upload again. It is important to remember that the uploading algorithm is based on rolling uploads. If you upload 7 images on a Monday, then it will roll over to 7 uploads the following Monday.
**So, just keep in mind if you are showing 4 images left to upload and you upload all 4 that day, you may have another 3 available the next day because they have rolled over from the week before.**
You will be notified of how many uploads you have left within the time period when you upload an image. At the bottom of the upload screen, the following message will appear: "You have "X" photos left this week. Upgrade to Awesome, Pro or Pro+ for unlimited uploads!"
If you have exceeded your uploads for the period, you will be redirected to our Upgrades page (https://500px.com/upgrade) when you try to upload. The following message will appear at the top of the screen: "Looks like you reached your upload limit for this week! You can upgrade below for unlimited uploads."
Why does this limitation exist for free members?
We’ve heard from our many users the desire to see an even higher level of quality of photos on our platform. At 500px, we constantly strive to showcase the very best photos from our community. We have always encouraged our users to share their very best and to focus on quality over quantity. With that said, we’ve decided to take the extra step of lowering our upload limit for free users from 20 to 7 per week. Based on our analysis, this should impact a small minority of users and benefit the entire community.